Review | Kerastase Ciment Thermique

The ciment thermique is designed to be a leave in conditioner with added heat protection and repair properties for fine damaged hair whether it may be from colouring or dryness. Hair becomes brittle and breaks off easily when the intercellular cement layer is damaged. The vita-ciment component helps to replenish the loss of cement and the top seal component functions to create an outer layer of fiber to protect it from various elements.

I have owned and used this product as a heat protector for about 2 months now and it does wonders.

First of all what drew me to this product was the finish it left behind as well as the wonderful citrusy aroma. My first experienced with this product was at the salon that looked after my hair for the most recent hair competition I was part of. Preparing for these competitions exposes your hair to constant heating tools and chemicals so it is absolutely vital to maintain a good hair care regimen even afterwards to keep the hair vibrant, glossy and moisturised.

This wonder product is to be applied after your hair has been towel dried. Only a small amount is required and it is to be rubbed into the ends then work your way up to the roots. Although it is classified as a leave in conditioner, it is light and doesn’t leave a oily appearance after being dried off using a blow dryer.

Having my last in-salon treatment over 2 months ago and using this product continuously over 2 months I have noticed that my hair is still glossy and my ends (which are blonde) remain strong and not split.

Price factor:

The Kerastase range though renowned for its quality and effectiveness is also known for its reasonably hefty price tags.  I bought this product at the salon and it was $41 NZD which I personally thought it wasn’t too bad. I have looked at prices on strawberrynet and it is about the same if not even more expensive. I believe Shampoo & Things retails it for about $45.  In my opinion the better your hair care regimen, the less likely you’ll have split ends and want to go to the hairdresser for a trim so in turn you may save a few dollars there. And on the plus side only a small dollop needs to be used, since you really want to work this product into the ends of the hair to prevent breakage. I have used it for 2 months and still have well over half left so this bottle could last me around 6 to 8 months.

In a nutshell

If you have brittle hair and want to spend around the 40-50 dollar mark on a product that works, I’d definitely recommend a leave in treatment such as the Ciment Thermique. It leaves the hair in such a glossy and healthy state that it feels like you have just had a blow dry from the salon. I’d also recommend this to those who may not go to the salon as frequently for cuts (such as people with long hair) this will maintain the ends of your hair to prevent split ends.

Leave a comment